Creative Writing Program

Creative Writing / Fine Arts Calendar

Legend

VWS (Visiting Writers Series)|MFA (MFA Reading Series) |PP (Pure Products) |ASAP (Alabama Student Association for Poetry) |  STRD (Hudson Strode Program | SG (Student Group)| ALT (Everything Anywhere Else) |EH (Ernest & Hadley)

 

Week 3

SG | Tues., Sept. 4: Get on Board Day / Ferguson Plaza, 5 p.m.

ASAP Wed., Sept. 5: Org Takeover Poetry Slam and Pizza Party / Ferguson 3111, 6:15 p.m.
Half the Battle Open Mic, featuring 2018 slam team / Ferguson Theater, 7:30 p.m.

ALT | Wed., Sept. 5: Sheila Pree Bright: A Community Conversation about Social Engagement
through Art
/ Wynn Fine Arts Center, Stillman College, 5 p.m.

SG | Wed., Sept. 5: EMMA (Eng. Majors and Minors Assoc.) Welcome Meeting / MR 301, 5 p.m.

ALT | Thurs., Sept. 6: Art Night on Woods Quad / Woods Quad, 4 p.m.

ALT| Thurs., Sept. 6: Kentuck Art Night / Downtown Northport, 5-8 p.m.

PP | Thurs., Sept. 6: Pure Products Art Night / Monarch Espresso / 714 22ndAve., 7 p.m.

ALT | Fri., Sept. 7First Friday Art Walk / Downtown Tuscaloosa, 6-8 p.m.

EH | Fri. Sept. 7: Other People’s Poetry (Dog Days of Summer) / 1928 7th St., 6 p.m.

 

Week 4

ALT | Tues., Sept. 11: Art Lecture (RK Emmerson): Apocalypse Illuminated / 205 Smith Hall, 6:30

SG | Tues., Sept. 11: Student Writers Guild First Meeting / Morgan 309, 6:30

ASAP| Tues., Sept. 11: Open Mic Poetry Slam / Monarch Espresso / 714 22ndAve., 6:30 sign-in.

ALT | Wed., Sept. 12: Theatre Roulette / Ferguson Theater, 7 p.m. ($5 admission)

STRD | Wed., Sept. 12: Medieval Medley (staged reading)/ Gorgas 205, 7 p.m.

 

Week 5

STRD | Mon., Sept. 17: Jim Casey In the Age of Shakespeare Lecture / Morgan 301, 5 p.m.

VWS| Tues., Sept. 18: Robin Behn Masterclass / Morgan 301, 2 p.m.

MFA| Wed., Sept. 19: MFA First-Year Student Reading / Sella-Granata Art Gallery, 7 p.m.

ALT | Thurs., Sept. 20: M. Martone and M. Mejia Reading / Chuck’s Fish / 508 Greensboro, 5 p.m.

PP | Thurs., Sept. 20: Pure Products Open Mic / Monarch Espresso / 714 22ndAve., 7 p.m.

EH|Sat., Sept. 22: Marianne Kunkel Poetry Reading / 1928 7thSt., 11 a.m.

 

Week 6

VWS | Mon., Sept. 24: Robin Behn and Heidi Lynn Staples Reading / Gorgas 205, 7 p.m.

STRD | Mon., Sept. 24: The Tempest (Film screening) / Morgan 301, 7:30 p.m.

ASAP | Tues., Sept. 25: Open Mic Poetry Slam / Monarch Espresso / 714 22ndAve. / 6:30 sign-in.

 

Week 7

SG | Mon., Oct. 1: Undergraduate Open Mic / UPerk Coffee Shop / 405 20thAve., 6:30 p.m.

VWS | Tues., Oct. 2: Omar El Akkad Masterclass / Morgan 301, 11 a.m.

EH| Wed., Oct. 3: Wayne Flint Lecture: “Pulitzers and Politics” /  TBA (check E&H), 5:30 p.m.

VWS | Thurs., Oct. 4: Cardboard Computer / Video Game Storytelling Masterclass / Morgan

ALT | Thurs., Oct. 4: Kentuck Art Night / Downtown Northport, 5-8 p.m.

PP | Thurs., Oct 4: Pure Products Art Night / Monarch Espresso / 714 22ndAve., 7 p.m.

ALT | Fri., Oct. 5:  First Friday Art Walk / Downtown Tuscaloosa, 6-8 p.m.

EH| Fri., Oct. 5: Other People’s Poetry (What Scares You) / 1928 7thSt., 6 p.m.

 

Week 8

ALT | Mon., Oct. 8 :Film: “The Revival: Women and the Word” / Intercultural Diversity Center
(sponsored by Women & Gender Resource Center) / Riverside Annex, 5 p.m.

ALT | Mon., Oct 8 : Pride Poetry Night / Icon / 516 Greensboro Ave. / 7:30 p.m.

ASAP | Tues., Oct. 9 : Open Mic Poetry Slam / Monarch Espresso / 714 22ndAve., 6:30 sign-in.

EH|Tues., Oct. 9 : Kevin Thomas & David Chumney: Conversations on Religion / 6-8 p.m.

VWS | Tues., Oct. 9: Meg Day Poetry Reading / Gorgas 205, 7 p.m.

VWS | Thurs., Oct. 11: Akhil Sharma Fiction Reading / Gorgas 205, 7 p.m.

 

Week 9

ALT | Mon., Oct. 15: B.J. Hollars Reading / Gorgas 205, 6 p.m.

VWS | Tues., Oct. 16: B.J. Hollars Craft Talk / Morgan 301, 11 a.m.

STRD | Wed., Oct. 17: Othello (staged reading)/ Cultural Arts Center / 620 Greensboro, 7:30 p.m.

PP | Thurs., Oct. 18: Pure Products Open Mic / Monarch Espresso / 714 22ndAve., 7 p.m.

STRD | Fri., Oct. 19: Feisal Mohamed Lecture (Milton Symposium) / Morgan 301, 5 p.m.

ALT | Sat., Oct. 20 & Sunday, Oct. 21: Kentuck Art Festival / Downtown Northport, 9 a.m.

 

Week 10

STRD | Mon., Oct. 22: O (Film screening) / Bama Theatre, 7:30 p.m.

ALT | Mon., Oct. 22: Artist Lecture- Edgar Heap of Birds / Gorgas Library 205, 6 p.m.

ASAP | Tues., Oct 23: Open Mic Poetry Slam / Monarch Espresso / 714 22ndAve., 6:30 sign-in.

ALT| Tues., Oct. 23: Gallery talk – Edgar Heap of Birds / Sella-Granata Art Gallery, 4 p.m.

 

Week 11

VWS| Mon., Oct. 29: Ada Limón Poetry Reading / Cultural Arts Center / 620 Greensboro, 7 p.m.

VWS| Tues., Oct. 30: Ada Limón Craft Talk / Morgan 301, 9:30 a.m.

SG| Wed., Oct. 31: EMMA Open Mic Fright / Morgan 302, 5 p.m.

ASAP| Wed., Oct. 31: Halloween Talent Show / The Ferguson Center, 8 p.m.

ALT | Thurs., Nov. 1: Kentuck Art Night / Downtown Northport, 5-8 p.m.

PP | Thurs., Nov. 1: Pure Products Art Night / Monarch Espresso / 714 22ndAve., 7 p.m.

ALT | Fri., Nov. 2:  First Friday Art Walk / Downtown Tuscaloosa, 6-8 p.m.

STRD | Fri., Nov. 2: Readings of American Literature / Cultural Arts Center / 620 Greensboro, 5 p.m.

ALT| Fri., Nov. 2: Soboroff Typewriter Exhibit / Cultural Arts Center / 620 Greensboro, 5 p.m.

EH| Fri., Nov. 2: Other People’s Poetry (Thankful) / 1928 7thSt., 6 p.m,

 

Week 12

ALT| Sun., Nov. 4: Breakfast at Tiffany’s (table reading) / Cultural Arts Center / 620 Greensboro Ave., 2 p.m.

SG | Mon., Nov. 5: Undergraduate Open Mic / UPerk Coffee Shop / 405 20thAve., 6:30 p.m.

VWS | Tues., Nov. 6:  Doug Nichol Masterclass / Morgan 301, 3 p.m.

VWS | Tues., Nov. 6: California Typewriter Screening and Talkback / Bama Theatre, 6:30 p.m.

STRD | Wed., Nov. 7: Macbeth (Film Screening) / Bama Theatre, 7:30 p.m.

MFA| Wed., Nov. 7: MFA First-Year Student Reading / Location TBD, 7 p.m.

EH| Thurs., Nov. 8: Profs. Ramey & Loewen, UA Religious Studies / 1928 7thSt., 6 p.m.

VWS | Fri., Nov. 9: Sloan Harris, ICM Literary Agent, Q&A / Morgan 301, 12 p.m.

 

Week 13

ALT | Mon., Nov. 12: Is My Verse Alive? / Cultural Arts Center / 620 Greensboro Ave., 6:30 p.m.

ASAP | Tues., Nov. 14: Open Mic Poetry Slam / Monarch / 714 22ndAve., 6:30 sign-in / 7 p.m. start.

STRD | Wed., Nov. 14: Kristina Bross Brown-Bag Lunch- on Digital Editing / Morgan 301, 11 a.m.

STRD | Wed., Nov. 14: Kristina Bross In the Age of Shakespeare Lecture / Morgan 301, 5 p.m.

PP| Thurs., Nov. 15: Pure Products Open Mic / Monarch Espresso / 714 22ndAve., 7 p.m.

 

Week 15

ASAP | Tues., Nov. 27: Open Mic Poetry Slam / Monarch Espresso / 714 22ndAve., 6:30 sign-in.

MFA| Wed., Nov. 28: MFA First-Year Student Reading / location TBD, 7 p.m.

ALT| Wed., Nov. 28: Alice Hohenberg Federico Lecture / Gorgas 205, 6 p.m.

PP| Thurs., Nov. 29: Pure ProductsArt Night / Monarch Espresso / 714 22ndAve., 7 p.m.

 

Week 16

SG| Mon., Dec. 3: Undergraduate Open Mic / Uperk Coffee Shop, 6:30 p.m.

ALT |Thurs., Dec. 5: Kentuck Art Night / Downtown Northport, 5-8 p.m.

ALT | Fri., Dec. 7:  First Friday Art Walk / Downtown Tuscaloosa, 6-8 p.m.

 

 

 

Other Campus and Local Events

Bama Theatre Art House Film Series

Tues., Sep. 4: The Rider, 7:30

Tues., Sep. 11: The Leisure Seeker, 7:30

Tues., Sep. 18: Disobedience

Tues., Oct. 2: Manhattan Short Film Festival

Tues., Oct. 9: UpstairsInferno

Sat., October 27: Rocky Horror Picture Show, 11 p.m.

 

 

UA Theatre and Dance Events

Sep. 24-30: The Christians

Oct. 2-7: Suddenly, Last Summer

Oct. 9-12: Alabama Repertory Dance Theatre

Nov. 5-11: Little Women

Nov. 6-9: Dance Alabama

Nov. 13-18: Merry Wives of Windsor

 

UA Music – All Events at Moody Music Hall

(some events require tickets)

Sep. 15: Cellobration!, 5:30 p.m.

Oct. 8: Alabama Symphonic Band, 7:30 p.m.

Oct. 22: Huxford and Tuscaloosa Symphony Orchestras, 7:30 p.m.
Sept. 28: Guest Recital: Stephanie Tiegler, soprano, 7:30 p.m.

Oct. 30: The Dover Quartet, 3:30 p.m.

Oct. 19: Alabama Symphonic Band, 7:30 p.m.

Nov. 30: Leonard Bernstein Tribute, 7:30 p.m.

 

UA Opera

Oct. 4-7: West Side Story/ Bryant-Jordan Hall (Oct. 4-5, 7:30 p.m.; Oct. 7, 3 p.m.)

Dec. 16: Amahl and the Night Visitor/ Bryant-Jordan Hall, 3 p.m.

 

Sarah Moody Gallery Exhibitions

Aug. 23-Sep. 28: Com-bine: Selections from the Permanent Collection

Oct. 11-Nov. 16: Pattern Thinking: Australian Aboriginal Art

Nov. 29-Jan. 11: Works by Alice Hohenberg Federico

 

Sella-Granata Art Gallery Exhibitions

Sep. 4-27: Graduate Student Exhibition

Oct. 4-25: Spirit Citizen: An International Dialogue with Artist Edgar Heap of Birds

 

Dinah Washington Cultural Arts Center Exhibitions

Aug. 3-Sep. 28: UA MFA Alumni Exhibit

Oct. 5-26: Butterfly Effect: Honoring the Legacy of Gay Burke

Nov 2-Dec 7: Alabama Types: Poets, Playwrights and Storytellers

 

Theatre Tuscaloosa

Sep. 7-16: Forever Plaid

Oct. 2-6: Love, Loss, and What I Wore

Oct. 19-28: God of Carnage

Nov. 2-4: Alabama Community Theatre Festival

Dec. 10-16: A Christmas Carol